Reviews
Main page

Monkey Island 1
Monkey Island 2
Monkey Island 3
Monkey Island 4
Monkey Island 5?
Where to buy
Islands
Forums
Trivia
Comics
Punchlines
Fan creations
Interviews
Downloads
MI play
Lyrics
Links
Hints
Walkthroughs
Insults
Technical help
View guestbook
Staff
Site history
Credits
Linking to us
Reviews

The Secret of Monkey Island
By: Paco Vink


Add review | Comics index

wow!
Review by: CaptainNiamhy @ 12:42, Tuesday, November 20, 2007
I love this comic so much...please don't let it remain unfinished!

This is amazing!
Review by: Beemotar @ 16:02, Thursday, November 8, 2007
If you (Paco) read this,and I do hope so, then I'd like to say: You are very good. I checked out your website(s) like anikey and I'm really amazed. You can compete with Pixar by making such animated movies and comics. I guess the Monkey Island games would make great stories for animated movies and they'll be a huge success!
I really hope you could finish the comic and publish it into the world.
Bye now, and use your talent!
Groetjes van een enthousiaste zuiderbuur...

PERFECT!!! Best comic ever!
Review by: BeeKay84 @ 22:47, Sunday, October 14, 2007
I said it before and I say it again... but I never said it here before, because I've registered only recently... Anyways, this is the BEST COMIC EVER created.... seriously!!

Paco, your style just rocks! It's the perfect mix of CMI style with a personal note in it. And the amazing expressions you convey in every pic, the coloring and shading, the innovative changes in the story, the additional jokes - it's simply PERFECT!!! That's the one word to best describe it.

It's so sad there hasn't been a new page for more than a year now. I really hope you will find the time to continue your awesome comic one day... but no matter how long it takes, it'll be worth the wait! 'til then, I can't get enough of it, I could look & read through the already existing comic pages over and over again. I always enjoy it! =)

EDIT: It's soooo great to see new comic pages!!! =D
Edited 1 time(s)

CONTINUE
Review by: BADam @ 14:35, Monday, June 18, 2007
Your comic is great, please CONTINUE!!!

ARR!!
Review by: PirateScumm @ 17:56, Wednesday, June 6, 2007
This is awsome, Paco! Pleasepleaseplease finish it! Pretty please with grog on top?

Review by: Black Ian @ 00:20, Tuesday, January 9, 2007
Paco!!! Please Please PLEASE add more pages!!! You've done an excelent job so far!!! It even looks like Guybrush from CMI!!!
Edited 3 time(s)

C'mon!
Review by: Donkey @ 18:33, Saturday, January 6, 2007
Paco! You can do it! Write the freakin' comic!

Well.. I would be glad if ye did.

Outstanding quality and humor.

New page(s) please!!!!
Review by: Zanthia @ 12:28, Tuesday, November 14, 2006
It's great, a real piece of good craftmanship. It's about to become a rare thing these days. But pretty, pretty, PRETTY please with sugar on the top, post some new pages soon. Don't stop this wonderful project, you're doing an amazing piece of work here, Paco.

Page 50
Review by: auburnhead13 @ 23:45, Sunday, April 2, 2006
lalalala....waiting for the next page....yoo hoo! where are you?

Well, Its great so far!...But I REALLY want a next page!!!!
Edited 1 time(s)

I don't get this...
Review by: microkid @ 15:33, Tuesday, March 14, 2006
At the end of page 48 he is with the Voodoo-lady, and then on page 49 he is suddenly another place.
Isn't there something wrong here?

And when will page 50 come?

It's an amazing comic you've created Paco, ceep up the good work, and after this maybe you can start with "The Curse Of Monkey Island"?
That one has the best story I think.

Continue with these drawings, some say you must create new, but continue these! But maybe you could change the style of LeChuck?
I don't like the others. The characters in COMI is best!

Keep up the good work!

COOL!!!
Review by: Master Ghost @ 05:07, Tuesday, March 7, 2006
This is a cool comic keep up the good work. I hope that more comics will come out soon the last few were great!!!

fabulous
Review by: LeBrush and GuyChuck @ 03:42, Monday, February 13, 2006
it feels like im reading a professional comic...your art is worthy of bill tiller himself....i feel as if im seeing monkey one as monkey three, which was always my favorite style....and what can i say besides FABULOUS! keep it up
Edited 1 time(s)

Cool
Review by: nutmeg1992 @ 15:39, Wednesday, January 11, 2006
I like it very much but when are you gonna finish it alot people are wondering what happens at the end!

Awesome
Review by: Rogy Man @ 02:17, Monday, December 5, 2005
You definately show potential for getting a job with LucasArts if they ever would make another Monkey Island game, or at least if it was up to me. I miss the comic though, I've started plenty of things and haven't finished them (such as my rendition of the Monkey Island Movie that accidentally got erased) and I hope that doesn't happen with this.

Wow! This is amazing!
Review by: MI Maniac @ 17:56, Wednesday, November 2, 2005
This comic is brilliant! I hope to see the whole comic sometime. I also think that this is what Monkey Island would look like as a movie.

By the way, when is the next page coming?
Edited 2 time(s)

S-U-P-E-R-!
Review by: reinert @ 07:39, Wednesday, October 5, 2005
This Comic is just SUPER!! I have not seen anything like it.

Blew me down...
Review by: Captain Raptor @ 23:39, Tuesday, September 20, 2005
Your comic blew the man down...and the wenches! I smack myself with a noodle for my crummy art compared to yours! You truly are amazing!

-Rocket grunt...err I mean
Captain Raptor

yea very good!
Review by: Napolion500 @ 11:23, Sunday, July 31, 2005
Its just like in the game ;) Keep in touch :) make more pages

Fantastic
Review by: Kamashi @ 10:58, Monday, June 27, 2005
I am a amateur artist myself, (not nearly as skilled as you) and I was simply taken aback by your artwork. Amazing, it made we want to play MI again, and so I did. You have got make a similar one about monkey island 2. (After you finish the first one of course, which could take some time). Last I just want to say that I love the way you reframed from picking up EVERYTHING and just made it so that i casually fell into Guybryshes pants.
PLEASE EXCUSE SPELLING ERRORS.

I give this Comic 11 out of 10 points. And that is saying a lot. You ROCK!

An Idea....
Review by: Bobbin Threadbare @ 06:18, Monday, June 27, 2005
These comics are great. It made me think... LucasArts should remake all MI games into this style.

Jiust simply Amazing
Review by: Ixidor @ 17:16, Friday, May 27, 2005
Paco should really be given the rights to make a remake of Monkey Island 1 and 2 with this here graphics. They are reminiscent of MI3 but in Paco's own way and they are a graphical beauty. I could not stop from seeing every comic page and marvel at the art style. I do hope that Paco plans on finishing the comics because if not it would be sad indeed.

Awesome!
Review by: _Murray_ @ 20:51, Friday, May 13, 2005
This comic is awesome! I have never actually played the full game of Secret of Monkey Island. But the comic seems to be just like the game, but with better pictures! I check back all the time to see if any pages were added. Please finish it soon, Paco!

Fantastic
Review by: TheDream @ 03:44, Sunday, May 1, 2005
This is indeed just fantastic in every aspect. From the character art and the perfectly timed jokes, this would be 100% perfect if only it were finished. PLEASE finish it as soon as possible, Paco!!!

Best ever
Review by: piratesteve83 @ 04:22, Tuesday, April 5, 2005
These comics rock my socks. I hope Paco makes more soon, cuz I really like seeing the first game done this way.

Heavy
Review by: Quin @ 17:31, Thursday, March 17, 2005
Wow, this stuff is the best I've ever seen! The atmosphere of the games is absolutely there in this comics and the drawings and jokes are perfect! Please send more of it next time!

GREAT fanart ever
Review by: kilua @ 06:08, Thursday, January 27, 2005
I love this stuff ; ) hope U release more page soon : )

I love it! Seriously!
Review by: Melina :D @ 19:48, Wednesday, December 15, 2004
Man! This comic is awsome!

Review by: Punky Elfic Bard @ 19:42, Wednesday, November 17, 2004
Hey, very cool the comics. But i woulda apreciate it more if u would have used a new style for the comic and not just ''imitating'' tillers MI3 style.

Look's Great
Review by: Blackrose @ 09:14, Wednesday, November 3, 2004
You have a great comic here keep it up okay!!!!

WOW
Review by: limallama @ 14:36, Saturday, October 30, 2004
This is fantastic! is there anyway you can let me know when its finished? I really like the cartoony style, and the slight adaption of the story, terrific stuff keep it up!

My god
Review by: @ 12:17, Saturday, October 9, 2004
what a fantastic work... you are truly gifted and deserve recognition!! congratulations, everything is awesome!!

how can i buy this in paper?? full story!!

i'll buy Monkey Island 2 too, if you work on it !! ;)

please, finish this up and sell to ME!! PLEASE!!

I'LL BUY !!!

Fantastically well done
Review by: freddiedagger2000 @ 22:51, Tuesday, October 5, 2004
I have viewed many fanfics and fan art over time, and by far yours issues the most creativity . Not only is it well drawn, it is well written and retains humor in every aspect. Very well done, keep up the good work.

Setzer_Gabbiani

WOW
Review by: gaming_guy @ 14:01, Saturday, August 28, 2004
I love it i love MI3 style and i love the 1st MI gr8 job

Review by: semenor @ 05:34, Friday, August 27, 2004
PACO ROCKS - SUBMIT COMICS FASTER MAN - WE'RE WATING IN UK!!

Best ever!
Review by: BigWhoop @ 20:05, Sunday, August 22, 2004
Better graphics than the games...all the wit of the games...It's the highlight of my sad, pathetic life! For someone who replays all of the Monkey Island games whenever I feel like, it keeps me happy by keeping the best lines and gags completely intact, yet skillfully shortens the parts that wouldn't be great in comic form. If it's ever finished, I'm going to print it out, laminate it, and mock Guybrush's lack of facial hair for all time! Classic!
Edited 2 time(s)

Cool
Review by: leMike @ 20:51, Friday, July 30, 2004
it's better than the game
I like it so much I printed it out and now it's in my comic shelf

Review by: jacksparrow @ 19:38, Thursday, July 22, 2004
Paco's Secret of Monkey Island comic is one of the highlights of the World of Monkey Island website unique and original towards the fans of the series.

Paco's comic is a brilliant array of colors and wonder, that pays homage to the series and it's artistic high in Curse of Monkey Island.

Paco also has a brilliant understanding of what makes a great comic and has a wonderful sense of storytelling.

I was not given the honor of playing Secret of Monkey Island. Paco's comic is a wonderful way to fill in people who are not aware of what happened before Curse.

I often thought that Paco should have finished the comic all together before he released it, so fans wouldn't have to wait months on end before reading another page. But now, I've never thought of a more suspenseful way to release a comic. A comic that people will be sad when it's over but feel complete. I hope that Paco when he finishes Secret will go straight onto LeChuck's revenge.

You are witnessing a great homage to the series that cannot be measured in greatness or in thank yous. Paco has done a great service to the monkey island franchise.

I hope that someday when it is finished that it will be published or printed. I know I would love to have this piece of literature on my shelf.

Thank you Paco for your dedication and keep up with the project.

Amazing
Review by: baberlp @ 12:06, Tuesday, July 20, 2004
Wow-great artistic skills and also fantastic game-to-comic adaption with the words!
Paco Vink, did you know that Ron Gilbert (the creator of the first two MI games) has put a link to your comic (under 'Monkey Island comic') on his website grumpygamer.com?

Anyway, this is just excellent. Please keep the comic going 'til the end.

What suddenly happened?
Review by: Legge @ 06:16, Sunday, July 4, 2004
Page 33 never gets out...

Nice Comic btw

Pure excellence
Review by: ado75 @ 14:09, Saturday, July 3, 2004
I honestly have never believed that anyone can pull out a successful comic based on Monkey Island universe. Paco has not only achieved that, he has even exceeded my expectations. This comic is masterpiece in art direction, design and narrative expression. It is true that it closely follows the storyline of the Secret of Monkey Island, but Paco made it again fresh and interesting. I have only to say that Paco is a great artist and making comics is not easy things to do. Because of that he has my complete admiration.

Bravado!
Review by: Lecter 66 @ 12:40, Friday, June 25, 2004
This is defintely the best comic on the site, such realism and detail to the story, with CMI animation, I take my eyepatch off to you Mr.Vink!!!!

SIMPLY GREAT!!!!!!
Review by: Flagellomane @ 12:50, Wednesday, May 26, 2004
This comic is great!!!Really GREAT!The Storyline is the same of the game....GREAT, GREAT, I've no words to explain my gratitude to Paco!!!

Holy &%$!
Review by: bigron @ 23:17, Saturday, May 22, 2004
Dude, you should get a contract! And please dont stop! This comic is one of the best I have read in my tiresom life!!!

WOW...
Review by: Blade master @ 10:53, Saturday, April 3, 2004
WOW, I mean, just, mega-big-wow! Seriously, how come you aren't WORKING for Lucas arts? I think you could put their gaphics designer out of a job! Keep itt up 'cause you are keeping me alive o this stuff! Grog-swillingly piratey and worth a keg o' rum matey! Arrrr...

Amazing
Review by: coa1k @ 18:44, Thursday, February 19, 2004
I've been waiting for something this good for a long time. If only you could finish it faster. Seeing MI2 in comic book form would be great too.

Amazing
Review by: guybrush peephood @ 02:31, Saturday, February 14, 2004
Every week I keep on cheking to see if it's been updated and the art is sweet. Make more soon

One Sweet Comic
Review by: lookathreeheadedmonkey @ 19:08, Sunday, February 8, 2004
Drawings in this comic are fantastic. Absoutely brilliant. It answers the question that many Monkey Island fans ask 'Wouldn't Moneky Island 1 be great with better graphics?'. I especially appreciate page 27 where the troll on the bridge is actually George Lucas. Hilarious. I look forward to seeing the end of this comic.
Edited 1 time(s)

*clap*
Review by: a-modest-girl @ 18:03, Saturday, December 13, 2003
*clap**clap**clap*

Simply Amazing
Review by: James isaac @ 04:40, Saturday, November 29, 2003
This is just great. The drawing style is super, and so is the whole comic. It is even professional quality!

Neat!
Review by: GuybrushMarleyThreepwood @ 02:22, Wednesday, November 5, 2003
This is THE best comic ive ever seen! GREAT drawings!!

Possibly the best comic ever?....
Review by: monkeyRTA @ 10:24, Tuesday, November 4, 2003
What can I say about this apart from...WOW!

Every single person who has ever played "The Secret Of Monkey Island" (M1) has undoubtedly wondered what the game would have looked like if it was a film - the latest Hollywood hit starring some big-name comedy actor.

Paco Vink has done the next best thing and put the story into a cartoon comic book form.

Countless hours I've sat at a PC in my younger days, trying to find out how to complete M1, with my sisters and brothers crowded round watching the fun unfold.
Now I too can sit back and watch the action unfold in this beautifully illustrated cartoon creation.

The attention to detail is absolutely top rate - the colours used, the drawing style, the momentum and comic timing of the original game; its all in here.

I tip my hat to you Paco Vink. You have done a tremendous job.
I only pray that you continue to the end and keep my friends and I crowded around the computer once more, watching the antics of Guybrush Threepwood.

The Secret of Monkey Island Comic
Review by: Broomie @ 13:34, Tuesday, October 21, 2003
Well, what is there to say, Paco has definetely made a name for himself from this comic, not only is his art beautifully done but his comic is so well put together, it makes me wonder why it is on the internet and not in stores. This comic amazed me in every way. He just used his art to make on the greated fan comics ever.

The effort put into it is fantastic, and I won't be surprised if I see his name in the credits of a future Monkey Island game. He is very talented. And there is yet more to come from him as the comic is only a quarter through the story. He has really put it together and altered parts so it could make sense. And I like the parts where he shoves tools into his pants and the other pirates are just staring with their mouths open.
"Did he just shove that all into his pants?
"Aye, maybe we should lay off the grog lads"


Very funny indeed, I thought the funniest thing he did was the release the april fools comic page where Guybrush is dead. He is a very clever and remarkable person and if I could give him a rating I'd give him 10 out of 10 stars! He is truly talented, for those who haven't read the comic read it now.

Good luck in de' future mate! :)


© Copyright 1997-2017, The World of Monkey Island®. All rights reserved.
Monkey Island is a registered trademark of LucasArts. This website is in no way associated with LucasArts.
No monkeys were harmed during the making of this website.